Jeep Wrangler JK Models and Special Editions Through the Years

This section will serve as historical information of the Jeep Wrangler JK Series from 2007 to 2017.

Part 1 – 2007-2010


Early 2007 Rubicon Image – Note the wheels pictured were never offered


The first year of the new Wrangler JK – Total Sales: 129,077

The introductory year of the totally redesigned Wrangler brought a new body style, engine, transmissions and more.  The biggest feature was that a Wrangler was finally available in 4 doors.

Engine: 3.8L V6 – 203HP
Transmission: 4-speed Chrysler 42RLE automatic or 6-speed Chrysler NSG370 manual
Axles: Dana 30 Front, Dana 35 Rear, Dana 44 Rear (Rubicon/optional on X)

Standard Models: X, Sahara, Rubicon

Fun Facts: Optional Dana 44 with TracLok on the X model.


Not much change in standard lineup or features, color options and appearance changes were minimal. Total Sales: 96,752

2007-2010 Wrangler Dash Layout

2007-2010 Wrangler Dash Layout

Standard Models: X, Sahara, Rubicon

Fun Facts: Optional Dana 44 with TracLok on select X models.


The 2009 model added standard Hill Start Assist (HSA) to prevent rollback on graded surfaces. Trailer Sway Control (TSC) also is available to monitor vehicle movement relative to the intended path and activates the Electronic Stability Program (ESP) if the trailer begins to sway outside set parameters. Additionally, ULEV II emissions replace LEV II emissions on manual transmission equipped vehicles. Total Sales: 89,315

Standard Models: X, Sahara, Rubicon

Special Editions: Rocky Mountian (Canada)

Fun Facts:  Optional Dana 44 with TracLok on the select X models. Larger sun visor, New center dome lamp with switchable directional lighting & drop in bin added to center console.

2010 Mountain

2010 Mountain Hood


Not much change in standard lineup or features, color options and appearance changes were minimal. Total Sales: 105,372

Standard Models: Sport, Sahara, Rubicon

Special Editions: Islander, Mountain

Fun FactsThe TracLok option was removed.  Only Rubicon and special models would have locking differentials.

Continue to Part 2 – 2011-2017